Guide to Exemptions

Unit exemptions may be granted depending on your prior certified learning. 

Dependant on your prior learning you may qualify for an exemption to individual study units or even levels. Exemptions are designed to make sure that you do not repeat learning that has already been undertaken and recognised.

You may apply by completing the APCL application form together with a mapping document for the relevant CIPS unit to detail your existing qualification and emailing it to our exemptions department. Payment may be submitted by cheque, or by emailing or phoning in your debit or credit card details.

Mapping document templates for each unit are available from the tabs below. An example mapping document has been completed for your guidance. We will also require copies of any relevant syllabuses for the qualification that you have completed. 

We will advise you of the outcome of your application within four working weeks.

For further information please view CIPS FAQs on exemptions for Qualifications 2013 and CIPS position statement on exemptions.

Please note that the current fee (until November 2017) for each unit exemption is £100.

Certificate in procurement and supply operations

Advanced certificate in procurement and supply operations

Diploma in procurement and supply

Advanced diploma in procurement and supply

Professional diploma in procurement and supply

Procurement vocational qualifications

CIPS recognises procurement vocational qualifications (ABC Awards and Gateway Qualifications) as unit exemptions from some units within the CIPS qualifications in procurement and supply at levels 4, 5 and 6. The relevant procurement vocational qualification must be completed successfully by the learner before applying for any exemptions from CIPS qualifications.

Please refer to the following accreditation statements for more information about the conditions of this arrangement: